1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bits Build your own server

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by Da Dego, 5 Jun 2007.

1. completemadness

completemadness What's a Dremel?

Code:
    mysqladmin –u root –pmypassword create torrentflux

2. Glider

Glider /dev/null

I think you copy/pasted from the site... The bit website uses a different encoding/font or something, which makes it go haywire. Just type the command yourself and it should be ok (I hope)

3. epfjr

epfjr What's a Dremel?

Great article - everything seems to be working except smartFTP I am receiving a "code 530 Login Incorrect". I am using the same login & password that I use for Samba - correct? I have no problem connecting with Samba or by typing the IP address into Internet Explorer.

I have used the fixes posted here to correct the proftpd.conf issue and am successful and stop/restart of this file.

I am very new to all this --- please help --- I am pulling my hair out.

Thanks, epfjr

4. spaggy

spaggy What's a Dremel?

Thanks a lot Glider, I never thought it'd be as easy as that. :)
    Listen to this though: when I'm in nano editing the config.php file in torrentflux_2.3/sql/html, I type my password exactly where it's supposed to be between the two "s like in your image.
    http://www.bit-tech.net/content_images/2007/06/build_your_own_server/torrentflux12.jpg

I go ctrl+x, y, but when I try to end it with enter, the error: [ Error writing config.php: Permission denied ] appears. What sort of permission do I need for this to work?

5. completemadness

SmartFTP uses an FTP password, not the samba password, these are 2 seperate things
    (like SSH password, Samba Password, MySQL password, FTP Password, User Password, etc etc)

you need to sudo the nano, sudo nano /path/to/file

This is because the file is made by root, and you don't have permission to edit it