1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Case Mod - In Progress My latest water cooled machine (17/03 - New Monitor)

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by AlexB, 2 Feb 2008.

1. AlexB

AlexB Web Nerd

UPDATE 2!!
    New monitor, page 5.
    #######

UPDATE
    I have re-built the system, see page 4 (or click here) to see the final fill.
    #######

Just finished building this.

My old case was a bit tired, so I bought a case off Koola on here, along with a few WC bits.

Just wanted something quiet and reliable. I've been using a standard intel cooler for the last 3 months (since my last water cooling setup leaked everywhere and had to be chucked out in a rage).

So, without wanting to ruin the case by cutting holes, I did a mini install. The CPU and Northbridge are water cooled, and I've added a fan to the southbridge, as on the EVGA 680i the southbridge shares the northbridge cooler via a heatpipe.

Parts:
    2x 12cm rads
    EK CPU and Northbridge blocks
    some 8/10mm tubing
    and a bay res with pump (forget the make.. )

Planning the loop:

[​IMG]

A few finished pics:

[​IMG]

Rubber tube at the top to allow the res at the front to pull out easier to fill/empty:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Front of case which sort of shows the rad in the front
    [​IMG]

I'm actually fairly impressed with the bay res pump - I wasnt sure how good it would be, as it doesnt look that well made, and the actual pump is teeny, but its actually pretty good. Seems to flow well, and is very quiet.

So-far-so-good temp wise, even tho I've already started to re-overclock it.

-al.

Last edited: 17 Mar 2008
  2. Guest-23315

Guest-23315 Guest

Very nice and clean!

3. Hazardous

Hazardous What's a Dremel?

That was my first thought too :cooldude:

Great work Alex :hip: :clap: :thumb:

4. drdro

drdro What's a Dremel?