1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Workflow Help

Discussion in 'Photography, Art & Design' started by Da Dego, 6 Feb 2008.

1. Da Dego

Da Dego Brett Thomas

Hey all,

As I've begun digging deeper into the whole photography thing, I've started to look at workflow options. Being as I'm a mac user, I've got a couple really good choices: Apple Aperture and Adobe Lightroom.

There are some pros and cons to each system for the way that I work (though I'll acknowledge I'm not an expert on Aperture and therefore not aware of some of the great interface streamlining), but I know that neither serves my end result - which is getting the pictures into iphoto so i can hand my lappy to my parents and tell them to take a browse.

Of course, there are ways to do that from either program - but I was wondering what some of the more seasoned die-hards are using. Aperture? Lightroom? Why? Got a tip to share for either?

2. Firehed

Firehed Why not? I own a domain to match.

I use Lightroom, after having tried Aperture, iPhoto, Picasa (on Windows) and old-school folder-based organization for my photos. There are a number of reasons:

Over Aperture:
    *tagging and metadata management feels much more natural, which is REALLY critical as it's a photo organizing app
    *faster
    *UI really works much better for me - Adobe apparently worked heavily with photogs to find out what they wanted in a UI and made it
    *faster
    *files are stored in a simple folder-based layout with changes stored in a single library file - very portable
    *faster
    *the five-step workflow approach feels a lot more natural - importing/viewing, developing, printing, export for web, and something else that I never use but I'm sure would be useful for people that want it
    *I could swear there are more developing controls