1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

News Latest WGA deletes wallpaper

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by Guest-16, 28 Aug 2008.

1. The Bodger

The Bodger What's a Dremel?

True, but don't forget that Apple are practically guaranteed to have made money from you already when they sold you the machine that runs the OS. Microsoft don't have that advantage; they get nothing at all if you pirate the software.

I'll openly admit that when I was a student I did run a pirate copy of windows on one of my two PCs, simply due to the fact that money was tight. However, as soon as I had a proper job, I "upgraded" to a legitimate copy, simply because my conscience didn't like the fact that the software was stolen and nagged me to sort it out as soon as I could afford to. Besides, despite various niggles, I reckon that XP home is probably worth the £57 I paid for my genuine copy.

2. teamtd11

teamtd11 *Custom User Title*

Payed $90 for my vista ultimate retail :rock:

3. chicorasia

chicorasia What's a Dremel?

Just wait until WGA starts deleting legit windows users' wallpapers....

4. IanW

IanW Grumpy Old Git

I don't run bleeding edge games (no reaction time left at my age), so Linux + WINE = Cheesecake. :D

5. Cptn-Inafinus

Cptn-Inafinus Minimodder

Very sensible method tbh.

Rather than just say "No! Bad!" they should just irritate the hell out of Pirates.

Obviously a work around will be made, but that's why they should keep doing new things.

6. Faulk_Wulf

Faulk_Wulf Internet Addict

When Linux can finally run Direct X games or when programmers finally support OpenGL, then we'll see the end of Microsoft and potentially Apple too.