1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice New Build advice for Photographer

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Bigjohn, 1 Dec 2008.

1. Bigjohn

Bigjohn What's a Dremel?

Hi folks, Im looking to build a computer but Im totally new to computer building.Im a full time Professional photographer so would be working alot with image editing software like pshop.
    I would have a budget of about £1500.
    Am I better trying to go the extra for a Mac or can a really good PC be custom built?

Thanks

John

2. Pookeyhead

Pookeyhead It's big, and it's clever.

As for Mac vs PC... you will get other photographers say ing "Get a Mac" etc "Because it's the industry standard". Well.. rubbish.. Photoshop is the industry standard, and that runs on both platforms and is identical on both platforms. Once youve loaded PS it makes no difference what platform you are on. I would suggest PC though because they're cheaper, more upgradable, and are not a one trick pony.

Does the £1500 include Photoshop itself? If so, then that's not leaving much for a PC!!!

If not, then £1500 is plenty.

If it's only going to be a Photoshop workstation and nothing else, then forget all singing/dancing 3D cards because you wont need it. Just get any video card with at least 128Mb or memory and you'll be fine. If you want gaming powah then just look at the other video card threads to tell you where to put your money.

RAM RAM RAM :) That's all I can say. Don't let anyone tell you that you don't need lots of RAM with PS, because they're lying. I do this for a living and I promise you there;'s no such thing as too much RAM. Try for 8Gb but check the motherboard can actually work at decent speed/timings before you buy. Some only work at decent speeds with 4Gb. My advice is.. 4Gb is the absolute Minimum you want, especially if using Vista. I recommend 8Gb as the sweet spot.