1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Noob: Comp build help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by MarkW7, 3 Dec 2008.

1. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

Hi, this is my first post / topic here, i have read a couple of other threads and everyone seems friendly and helpful.

Heres the basics; I've just bought an old dell dimension 8200 with a couple of bits, inside - 250w [max output PSU?], motherboard [not sure if working, but when i put power cable into PSU a green light comes on], CPU Fan, [this has an air duct that pumps it straight out of the rear] and im not sure if there is actually a processor in there as i dont want to pull the thing off and damage anything as i am a beginner and i dont know if anything works because i cant plug my monitor in; [pics below]

so basically i need alot of help :(, would be very greatful.

The Case; [Dell Dimension 8200]

[​IMG]

The back;

[​IMG]

The back close up on slots;

[​IMG]

Case open;

[​IMG]

Inside 1;

[​IMG]

Inside 2;

[​IMG]

Ram, were 2; [Don't know if works]

[​IMG]

I took all the covers off;

[​IMG]

I need a harddrive, i only need a small one around 40gb's as only i will be using it and hopefully save some money as i am on a tight budget.
    Drive, will only need the one? looking for something that can read CD's and DVD's and also give me the option to burn.
    As there are no monitor slots i'll need video card?[don't know anything about this thing] pref one with just 2 VGA slots or even 3 as i'll have atleast dual monitor.
    Dont know if it has processor, if not i'd be looking for something as an average not super fast or slow as im on a budget.
    Ram again im not sure?
    Case Fans, as the CPU cooler fan comes straight out of the back vents there i not really anywere to put extra fans unless in the front were drives go because ill only have one, again not sure.