1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Noob: Comp build help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by MarkW7, 3 Dec 2008.

1. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

One has fan, others have heatsinks and others have nothing.

So your saying dont install the ones with no heatsink / fan because they're prob dead.
    That leaves 3:
    1 with heatsink and fan
    2 with just heatsinks
    The VGA one which had nothing in first place.

Which would be best.

2. morris8809

morris8809 Minimodder

first, try looking on the labels around the card and see if you can find a model number, that will help us let you know which one would be best if they work. Also where did you pick those up from?

3. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

I've looked none have any model numbers on; ebay.

4. azrael-

azrael- I'm special...

The cards without a cooler or heatsink aren't necessarily dead, but I'd be wary about them nonetheless. At the very least you need to remove the thermal interface material residue, apply some new and then fit a new cooler. These cards probably cannot run without a cooler of some sort. As for figuring out which card is most likely to be useful you should take some pictures of the actual graphics chips (after cleaning off the gunk).

5. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

So they wont run without a cooler but will they still run with only a heatsink on ?

What should i use to clean them.

Ok; added models and other bits on what i can find.

Last edited: 21 Dec 2008
  6. bigsharn

bigsharn Officially demotivated

White spirit will do it...

Just hold a ball of tissue on the end of a bottle of it, tip up the bottle, put the bottle back down and remove the tissue...

That'll do you... as for heatsinks just have a look on ebay, I'm sure there are some self-adhesive pastes and GPU heatsinks that'll fit :)

7. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

Hey Sharn,