1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cooling succumbed to water cooling

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by saltynay, 22 Dec 2008.

1. saltynay

saltynay What's a Dremel?

Although I understand water cooling in theory I have no true knowledge of good parts or brands.

The plan is to internally mount the radiator by modding my current top panel and copying this;
    [​IMG]
    That will then be cooled by my aluminium fan plan for the top panel setup like this;
    [​IMG]
    Instead of the filter the radiator will be along the length under the meshx. There will be no fan guards so fingers beware! I may add grills at a later date when I order my planned Q9450 and 55nm gtx260. I have 2 fans spare after I do this so may put them onto the rad underneath but not close enough to block the other 5.25" bays

Parts
    Pump:http://www.watercoolinguk.co.uk/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=77_74&products_id=387
    cpu block: http://www.watercoolinguk.co.uk/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=27_28&products_id=1126
    Radiator: http://www.watercoolinguk.co.uk/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=37_73&products_id=932 <-- I need it to fit within the top 2 5.25 bays including space for the 25m thickness fans so limitted to 90mm
    Resevoir:http://www.watercoolinguk.co.uk/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=36&products_id=347
    Tubing??
    coolant: distilled water with some biocide
    Fan controller: Scythe Kaze Master Ace 5.25inch Fan Controller - Silver Mainly for other case fans not the watercooling loop
    Meshx: http://www1.acryan.com/_meshx/meshxpanel.shtml

Works out to approx £300

p.s. This won't just be to cool the cpu it will eventually include cooling a 55nm 260, Q9450 and possibly a dedicated 8800gts 640mb as physx. Not worth selling my 8800gts pair second hand money would be to low.

Last edited: 23 Dec 2008
  2. DaveVader

DaveVader Fast Action Response Team