1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress WaterCube *Update 19/04/10*

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by haofeng, 23 Mar 2009.

1. haofeng

haofeng What's a Dremel?

Hi,

I'm Haofeng and I'm pretty new to the weird and wonderful world of case modding, but after following some of the amazing stuff on here and OC3D, I've been inspired to do a build of my own.:D

I've been working this project for a while now, and I started planning it Summer last year, but I didnt think it worthwhile to start a project log up till now. Hopefully, by doing a project log, I can convince myself to stop procrastinating and get this thing done by the end of the Easter hols before I get back to school.

Basically, I wanted to watercool my cpu (and possibly gpu), while still having everything compacted in a relatively small cubecase, but there wasnt really anything on the market that I could easily mod to fit the bill, so I decided to do a scratch build. I was inspired mostly by Craigbru's "Rogue" and Barry/Mankz's "Watery", so my project, which I'm yet to name, is kinda a culmination of the two.

Enough of boring you all with big chunks of writing, now for some pics!

Sketchup design-I'll explain stuff as I go along....I know the black is pretty monotonous, I'm hopefully gonna liven it up with some white lighting/racing stripes
    [​IMG]

Front view
    [​IMG]

Top view- motherboard(striker extreme) etc pretty self-explicable, except the gpu's should actually be gtx260's and the cpu waterblock is in fact an ek-supreme.
    [​IMG]

Cooling for the top section- i think it'll work ok, and keep the motherboard ticking over. Better solutions?
    [​IMG]

Lower level
    [​IMG]

Watercooling setup-the res was exluded for simplicity's sake.
    [​IMG]

Thats all for now, will have some actual work up very soon...

Thanks for looking :D

Last edited: 19 Apr 2010
  2. Vhet

Vhet What's a Dremel?