1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Displays Can a GPU 'kill' LCD monitors?

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by adidas, 23 Apr 2009.

1. adidas

adidas What's a Dremel?

Hi,

I have an nvidia 8800 GT. So far I've been using an LG 17" artistic series for 2 years, on the exact same machine, exact same configuration, without a problem.

A month ago the screen stopped coming back from the 'standby' state induced by windows power management. You basically wiggle the mouse, and the screen wouldn't wake up. I started experimenting by unplugging the screen from the mains and plug it back in, and that often helped.

Unfortunately, it soon became harder and harder to use that trick (it would take more and more power cycles to make it come back to life), and so I just decided to turn off power management and leave the screen constantly on. This worked OK, until I accidently turned off the screen one day and it never came back on. That is, when you reboot, the bios info is not displayed.

So, like all good fathers, I went and borrowed my daughter's screen, different brand. It worked great until today. Guess what? Computer won't wake up from sleep. Bios info not showing when rebooting. Screen always displays 'NO SIGNAL' no matter what.

So now I'm obvioulsy very concerned about having to buy a new screen, which could get expensive if it dies suddenly like the other two.

I'm also really puzzled - I worked in IT for 15 years and I have *never* seen or heard of a video card 'killing' a monitor (short of the very old CRTs and refresh rates issues, but that's prehistory).

Another puzlling issue is that my wife tells me she saw the latest broken screen turn to a red hue, then a green hue after she power cycled it, and finally exhibited the above behaviour of not coming back from sleep.