1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Playstation 3 Advice about a cheap PS3 and cheap PS3 games :)

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by books, 5 Jun 2009.

1. books

books What's a Dremel?

Hey all. I live in the UK by the way. I would like a PS3 but I have other hobbies that use a lot of my spare cash. I'm also really in to PC gaming, so this would be a kind of secondary distraction, so I really should try to get all this as cheap as possible.

I'm watching some PS3's on Ebay at the moment and I'm just waiting for the right one. I'm nervous because I have never used Ebay before. So anyway, could you guys offer any advice? Is Ebay even the best place to do this? And should I just find an 80gig version? Or get a cheap 40 and put a bigger hard disk in myself? I don't really care about backward compatibility with PS2 games. If it was only going to end up being about £200 instead of £280 brand new, do you think it's even worth buying a used one? Or should I just spend the extra £80 and get it new and from a trustworthy place (ie: a shop, or Amazon)? And I would get a full warranty that way too, not sure I would even have one if I bought it second hand.

Also, seeing as they rarely come with all the games I would want, where would you guys go for cheap used games? I checked the prices of new games and it would cost me hundreds to buy all the games my friends have so I can play with them :( So if I can get them used I could save a lot of money. I searched a bit and saw some ok deals on Amazon, for example: Streetfighter 4 --- £22.99+ £3.00shipping "Used - Like New".

Is that about as good as it gets, or are there better places to go?

Last edited: 5 Jun 2009
  2. CardJoe

CardJoe Freelance Journalist

The first question to ask though is why do you want a PS3 specifically? Personally, Xbox 360 is cheaper and will offer you a wider variety of media and games more easily and as less of a cost.