1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Planning How to Get Started?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by H2O, 1 Aug 2009.

1. H2O

H2O Burnt Acrylic - Mmmmmm

Hi everyone!

As you can probably tell, I am brand new to bit-tech. I have been browsing these forums for a while now, so I decided that it was time to join. It looks like you have an amazing community here! :thumb:

I am the very early planning process for my first mod, but I have a few questions. While I am experienced with building computers, my modding experience is limited to installing watercooling in my current computer.

1) How do you get started on your first mod? Since I do not have access to some of the most basic modding tools, I wanted to keep it simple by using a DD acrylic case (either Tower 26 Black, Double wide, or a custom case, depending on whether I can get sponsored or not).

2) How do you get sponsored, and how does it work? Do the sponsors let you keep the parts, or do you have to send them back? Do they expect you to bring you mods to LAN parties or are they contempt with pics on the internet? Is it possible to get sponsored without any prior modding experience?

3) What tools souls a beginner modder buy? It would help if I got sponsored, as I am a student and don't have large amounts of money to buy drill presses and Dremels if I am spending money on the mod itself. :waah:

Ok, thats all for now, thanks for helping me out!:dremel:

2. Burnout21

Burnout21 Mmmm biscuits

3. mcnaryxc

mcnaryxc teh case is a lie

I know I'm new to bit-tech but I've done a couple case mods (on Overclock.net) and I'm a college student too.

My suggestions are to set a budget for the case mod itself. I set mine at $200 and go from there. My first ever mod was taking a beige box that I got for free and went to town on it. $150 and 2-3 months later, I had Portal:ATE done.