1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Case Mod - In Progress Project: Mission

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by slipperyskip, 30 Jun 2009.

1. slipperyskip

slipperyskip Member

Thanks for the comments. I appreciate them.

I try not to make any mistakes. In a previous life I worked in the nuclear power industry where mistakes were generally frowned upon. Patience is a powerful tool in keeping you error-free and age makes that tool even sharper. Helps keep all your fingers attached too.

[​IMG]

The most complex leg veneer piece is for the inside front leg. Here is one of the two cut out and ready to glue into place.

[​IMG]

Top vent veneer work.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Installed the spokes permanently by gluing up the four spoke holders. Notice that the two veneer spoke transition pieces are loosely installed.

[​IMG]

Here is one of the holders. It is simply a block of wood with five round slots filed into them at intervals.

[​IMG]

The spokes were all cut and fitted.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Back to the vent to do some bevel work using my Easy Cutter.

[​IMG]

More glue drying.

[​IMG]

24 pieces of basswood and walnut.

[​IMG]

Finally getting some walnut on the face.

[​IMG]

Test fitting some chrome and the top vent.

Thanks for looking!

2. woody_294

woody_294 Wizard Ninja :P

That looks stunning! Great work

3. DonT-FeaR

DonT-FeaR I know what a fk'n Dremel is ok.:D

/\ agreed

4. perplekks45

perplekks45 LIKE AN ANIMAL!

Beautiful! :thumb:

5. The boy 4rm oz

The boy 4rm oz Project: Elegant-Li

+1

6. Bad_cancer

Bad_cancer Mauritius? 2nd speck east of africa

This is really something! I just love the spokes and the rad grills to bits!

7. slipperyskip

slipperyskip Member

I appreciate all the comments. Thanks guys!

Small update/important milestone.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]