1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Can I possibly go wrong with this setup ?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Kaktus, 24 Sep 2009.

1. Kaktus

Kaktus What's a Dremel?

Hello there Bit-Tech forum users !

This is my first time building a pc from the ground up and therefore I seek some answers to my questions :)

This is my setup:

Silverstone Fortress FT01
    - Solid case, don't want no other http://www.silverstonetek.com/products/p_contents.php?pno=FT01&area=

Intel Core™ i5 Quad Processor i5-750
    - Don't know about this one, heard it's good, but the i7 is better, tho the price differs to much I think

Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz 4GB CL8
    ( CL8-8-8-24@1.5V ) - Sounds good I think

MSI P55-GD65 - Pretty good specs on this motherboard too

XFX GeForce GTX 285 690M 1GB @ 690/2600MHz "overclocked" - Now this card might be a little bit overkill i figure

Corsair Powersupply HX 750W - Not much to say here, quality all the way

Western Digital Caviar GreenPower 500GB / 32MB Cache - Should do well enough, don't need no SSD

Corsair H50 - Great cooler according to the tons of high scoring reviews

And the rest I already have !

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

So how does it look poeple ? Is it good ?

My intended use is gaming and I want to drive games like Brothers in Arms: Hells Highway, Diablo 3, Splinter Cell: Conviction and GTA4 on Max :D

The two things I can't figure out is the CPU and the GPU.
    Did I go to far with the GTX 285 ? I heard the GTX275 is pretty good too, but don't know if it will run the games like I want them to run.

And the Intel i5 :confused: Is there a better alternative for me ?

So if some of you brainers could help me sort some of this out I would be so glad :)

2. DorkSterr

DorkSterr Hakuna Matata

Does the Corsair H50 support 1156 now?

3. smc8788

smc8788 Multimodder