1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other How often do you turn off your PC?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by TheMusician, 27 Oct 2009.

?

How often do you turn off your PC?

1. Daily

67.7%
  2. Weekly

8.4%
  3. Bi- or Tri-weekly

3.2%
  4. Monthly

7.1%
  5. Longer

13.5%
  1. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

um, i've just got an acer aspire - after installing windows + updates it seemed hot after 3 hours.

2. frontline

frontline Punish Your Machine

Only turn it off for hardware changes/upgrades

3. Cupboard

Cupboard I'm not a modder.

mine gets shut down whenever I am not using it really. I cannot justify a 200W heater when I am not even in the house! I would put it to sleep but it doesn't like waking up again.

Earlier in this week it had been off from Sunday to Wednesday afternoon as I had been so busy I didn't get a chance to turn it on :(

Laptop gets turned off when I'm not using it too but that because it goes with me to most places. 1 hour gaps in lectures I go and find somewhere with internet and a plug (we have some good places in our uni) and just bum around on the internet. Its such a waste of time - when I was living in uni accommodation last year I could go back and do some work. Sadly I don't/can't now :(

4. Burnout21

Burnout21 Mmmm biscuits

i know the feeling, i was a 15min walk from uni, now its a 30min bus ride so finding a place at uni to hold up between lectures can really suck! And my laptop is several tonnes so i rather not drag it with me.

5. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

Is it not like the uni in transformers two, where they have a data center in there accomodation (bedrrom) onsite.

6. Singularity

Singularity ******* Operator from Hell

Main PC gets shut down every night, no reason to pump heat all the time. Notebook gets shut down every time since I keep switching from Ubuntu to Win 7 as needed.