1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice New to building

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by Lord-Vale3, 1 Dec 2009.

1. Lord-Vale3

Lord-Vale3 His Tremendousness

Hi, I am new to the building community and I am planning my first build. I have a strict budget of $1500 USD and the goal is to build a fast PC capable of running current games on medium to high settings. This budget will be paying not only for the PC itself but also the OS, Monitor, Keyboard, Mouse, and a very necessary UPS.

I have a good idea of what I will use in the build, but as this is my first time I am not entirely sure with my selection, and thus I come to show what I am looking at so far and am open to suggestions and comments from people who are more knowledgeable and experienced than I.

This is what I have so far, all is to be ordered from Newegg atm:

-Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16GHz
    -Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45T-UD3LR LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX
    -Video Card: EVGA 9800GTX+
    -RAM: G.Skill 4 GB DDR3 1333
    -HDD: Western Digital Caviar Blue WD6400AAKS 640GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
    -Case: Antec P183
    -PSU: Antec CP-850
    -Monitor: Acer X223Wbd Black 22" 5ms Widescreen LCD
    -UPS: CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD 1500VA 900W UPS
    -2 Additional Case Fans: Scythe S-FLEX SFF21E 120mm Case Fan
    -DVD Drive: SONY Black SATA DVD-ROM Drive Model DDU1681S-0B
    -CPU Cooling: ZALMAN 9500A 92mm 2 Ball CPU Cooler
    -Mouse: Microsoft SideWinder X5 Mouse
    -Keyboard: Saitek PZ30AU Black USB Standard Eclipse Keyboard
    -Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound

All in all with combos and shipping (not including rebates) it comes to $1506.61USD

Comments, suggestions?

2. adam_bagpuss

adam_bagpuss Have you tried turning it off/on ?

heres my 2 shillings.

1) drop the CPU and mobo - grab a i5 750 instead and get a Gigabyte P55M-UD2