1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cooling Danger Den

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Mikeyfly300, 27 Jan 2010.

1. Mikeyfly300

Mikeyfly300 Modder and lapping specialest

I have a DD loop and block that works extremely well. so I have ha 5870 and i decide i want to water cool it. I order the block from the for there quality. So this is what i get when i opened the box.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I have been a machinist for 15 years and horrified when i saw this. I immediately called them
    and explained the problem to them. They told me i would get the same exact thing and i had to
    pay to RMA it. I indicated this block at work and there was a .002 in dip in each ring. So after some one realized i knew what i was talking about they took me serious and and contacted the president of DD Jeremy Burnett who is also the machinist. I told him how to fix the problem, he took my advice and it worked so well that he pulled all the 5800 blocks off and redid it my way.I will show you the difference now.

Notice the one on the right they were going in half circle passes and over lapping the as you see where the rough sections are and were making the passes at full speed with a 1/4 fly cutter. It is imposable to achieve perfect flatness at that speed and small cutter on a finish pass and not doing it in 1 pass.

This was my solution for him . I told him to cut the speed by 65% and start in the center and spiral the cut so the tool/cutter doesn't have to lift up and back down again. That is why there is the roughness in those 2 areas. When the tool has to lift up and down on a finish pass it will leave a ring at the start and end of each pass no matter how accurate the CNC is.