1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cooling Watercooling Build Advice

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by FxFu$IoN, 2 Feb 2010.

1. Frohicky1

Frohicky1 Awaits his moosey fate . . .

It might be worth (though, as always, best searching for empirical data) putting

CPU-->RAD1-->VGA-->RAD2

so that the GFX isn't getting warm coolant from the CPU

2. Big Elf

Big Elf Oh no! Not another f----ing elf!

I'm not 100% sure about this, as I said earlier i'm still learning, but say you have a HD5950 in the loop then that's an additional heat dump of 180W(?). I'm fairly sure that 2 x 240 Rads will easily cope with that providing the fan speed is around 1400rpm or greater no matter where the Rads are in the loop.

As I say I'm not really certain however I'm adding my HD4870 to my loop in the next couple of days and for ease of fitting I'm initially going to put it immediately after the CPU block. My setup will be Pump>480>240>CPU>GFX>Res.

When I've time though in the next week or so I'll redo my loop - Pump>480>CPU>240>GFX>Res and see what difference, if any, it makes.

3. FxFu$IoN

FxFu$IoN o.O or O.o Or O.O?

what like this?

[​IMG]

so PUMP-->RAD 1-->CPU-->RAD2-->VGA-->RES-->PUMP

btw ive nearly finished selecting/sourcing my componants gona start buying to tomoro if i get some thumbs up from here, just the fans left to decide on.

Pump/Res Top: http://www.watercoolinguk.co.uk/p/1...W-MCP355wXSPC-Acrylic-Tank-Reservoir_394.html 76.61

Rads: 2 x Thermochill PA120.2 £112.38

CPU Block: Apogee XT £56.95

GPU Block: (on the way)

Tubing: 1/2"ID - 3/4"OD UV Green (2.5M) £12.96

Coolant: Deionised Water + Biocide £3.59 , £3.59

Fittings: 4 x 3/8" to 1/4" Reducer (For Rads) £13.96

2 x 1/4" Bitspower Twin 45 Degree £20.22

12 x 1/2" Compression Fittings £77.61

Fans: 2 x Yate Loon (Thick ones) £9.80 For the outside rad

For the inside rad ive chosen these,

2 x AC Ryan BlackFire4 (Inside Rad) £14.40