1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice New System(s) finally.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mrdexter, 22 Feb 2010.

1. mrdexter

mrdexter What's a Dremel?

I'm a little bit out of the loop despite having spent the last few days trawling reviews, all it's achieved is for a small melted portion of my brain to trickle out my right ear.

About 3 to 4 years ago I finished working in hardware which I had worked in for the previous 4 years or so, and as is the case in this industry 15 minutes after I closed our shop I was no longer up to date with the latest advances.

I am currently looking for three new systems, and to keep it as easy as possible I'm going to post the form three times to keep the systems seperate (you remember the bit about my brain having melted right?).

Work PC.
    Main uses of intended build: I am a web designer so normally I can expect all the main browsers to be running, dreamweaver, skype, maybe an office doc or two.
    When I'm not working I might play DDO, and given the last game I played was MOHAA I might check out a game or two, but I can't play for long due to physical restrictions and this is not really essential.

Parts required:
    Everything except chasis.

Previous build information (list details of parts):
    AMD X2 something or other, 2GB DDR, nVidia Geforce 8x00GT, stock cooling, 40gb IDE and 2 x 1TB sata.

Monitor resolution:
    I need a slightly bigger than my current 19" but given the way the industry has moved over to widescreen I may end up with two monitors, one mounted sideways and the current 19" next to it for the other PCs.

Storage requirements:
    Low, the TBs are moving to a different PC.

will you be overclocking: no, unless I have so much fun I can't help myself.

Any motherboard requirements (no. of USB, Xfire/SLI, fan headers):