1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other students with terribly bad motivation?

Discussion in 'Serious' started by Jipa, 13 Sep 2009.

1. Jipa

Jipa Avoiding the "I guess.." since 2004

It's so easy to sometimes forget I'm not the only one doing terribly bad in the school.

The results of the first maths exam just came out - 60% of the class failed. :duh: or maybe :lol:. That really made my day as for a large part I thought just about everyone else had already studied the same stuff (matrix, imaginary(complex numbers w/e in English)) and all that in the college. Apparently not.

2. boiled_elephant

boiled_elephant Merom Celeron 4 lyfe

Just to throw in my 2c, I'm in second year and I still have HUGE problems with motivation. I mean gigantic. I'm 7 weeks in and I've done nothing. At all. I've literally written a few pages of notes and bought a large binder and read a bit about English Cathedrals in the library this one time. My essays are due in the next three weeks at various times and I'm absolutely shredded over it, I don't know how to force myself to start getting into this stuff. Education just isn't nearly as enjoyable as I thought it would be, and the fact that I'm paying a lot of money to not have fun stings.

3. Jipa

It's basically gone from bad to worse, and I just can't see how I could make it any better even if I tried. Essentially I've F*d the whole first year, which alone wouldn't be too bad, but I've also noticed I seriously just don't like programming. At all. Also the maths hasn't started to make any more sense, which pretty much ruins any further technical studies for me.

Not looking good.

4. boiled_elephant

boiled_elephant Merom Celeron 4 lyfe

First year is all about figuring out if it's for you, though, so you've realised it well in time. Also, if you decide to stay on, first year marks don't count towards your degree, if your uni's anything like mine.

5. Volund