1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

News Four percent of gamers play for 50 hours a week

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by CardJoe, 28 May 2010.

1. NethLyn

NethLyn Minimodder

What? They must be MMO players then because I'm lucky if I get 1/5 of that time, replaying both Crysis games being an exception because of bank holidays. And none of the Americans I know have that much time to play either, they're too busy trying to keep their jobs.

2. Baz

Baz I work for Corsair

When I was a student, I was hitting 50hrs a week no problem.
    Now it's close to 15-20 hours a week, which still isn't bad!

3. GiantStickMan

GiantStickMan What's a Dremel?

It fluctuates pretty wildly for me, being a shift worker and having a lot of other commitments and interests in my life. I think I've spent maybe 2 hours in the past fortnight gaming? But if I really get into something that can increase dramatically at the detriment of basically everyone and everything else in my life :p

4. haakon.t

haakon.t :)

If a man played 50 hours a week from he was 10 till he was 80, he would've have wasted over 20 years of his life on it, just to put it in some sort of perspective.

5. smc8788

smc8788 Multimodder

What makes you think those hours were 'wasted' though? People play games for a reason; they obviously enjoy it.

Personally, I watch hardly any TV whatsoever, maybe a few hours a week at most. But that doesn't mean I think that everyone who watches TV is 'wasting' their lives. I just enjoy gaming more in my spare time, so that's what I do. Some of my most vivid memories of my childhood were of playing games with my friends, I don't think that's necessarily a bad thing.

6. dr-strangelove

dr-strangelove What's a Dremel?

Hmm I thought I was 'extreme' until I read this :p

7. barndoor101

barndoor101 Bring back the demote thread!

can we really classify WoW players as 'gamers'?