1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice PSU and completing my build

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by urobulos, 22 Jun 2010.

1. urobulos

urobulos Minimodder

Hi

As I sold my Advent from PC world (my first ever desktop and the last computer I ever bought from a high street vendor) I need a brand new PC. I have little practical knowledge, but I've spent most of my free time the last 2-3 months browsing hardware reviews and a mate of mine already assembled a few PCs using components from Scan so I should be fine with his help.

The problems with the old machine were:
    a) slow
    b) extremely loud
    c) no dust filters,
    d) crappy case and PSU

I upgraded it with a 4670 and 2 GB of Ram from a GF 7300 LE and 1GB, but it only resolved the first issue. Couldn't go higher than 4670 since the PSU would burn most likely. Basicaly I want to build a computer which would avoid all of the above issues.

I sold the old 19 inch LG monitor and I'll be using a full HD 32 inch tv as a monitor.

I got some of the items already:

1) i7 920
    2) Gigabyte GA-X58A UD3R rev 2 motherboard
    3) Sapphire 4890

Already decided on these components:
    1) 3x2GB Corsair XMS 1600 Mhz
    2) Gelid Tranquilo
    3) Win 7 Home Premium Retail as my OS (will use a student upgrade program to get Professional straight away)
    4) 1TB Samsung F3 or an equivalent WD model

Not sure about: