1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blogs Why I don't use WASD

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by Sifter3000, 24 Jun 2010.

1. Amon

Amon inch-perfect

[​IMG]
    This picture was made a long time ago (2003?).
    In 1998, Quake 3 Arena was what converted my to EDSF. In almost every possible case of any game, EDSF is superior to WSAD. The problem is spending 5 to 10 minutes for each new game to map out an efficient configuration and, as you mentioned, impossibility of sharing controls. Playing all of those aircraft simulators from the DOS days is responsible for my playing all games with an inverted mouse Y-axis (aircraft pitch is inverted).

2. s3v3n

s3v3n MMO Cold Turkey -fail

Like others I started using ESDF when I started playing Tribes, and continued to rely on it when I played Infantry. Those games required a bunch of keybinds, especially Infantry. In Infantry I have every key between 1/q/a/z and 5/t/g/b bound, and use them often during battle. This is in addition to the 5 mouse buttons.

3. rickysio

rickysio N900 | HJE900

As like you, except with even more frequency, I've shattered the bones in my left forearm thrice.

As a result my left arm doesn't like to lie flat AND perpendicular to the keyboard, so I have to use QWAS as my control cluster - Q for left, W for forward, A for back, and S for right. :(

4. EdwardTeach

EdwardTeach What's a Dremel?

I am left handed, and I use the default set up - i.e control mouse with my right.

I am about the opposite of ambidextrous - you should see my hand writing when i use my right! but I am fine gaming like this, just got used to it I guess. I would imagine you could get used to it pretty quickly as well.

I think many lefties use the mouse with their right, not only are all games set up with this default assumption, but most workplaces, university computer labs, internet cafes etc etc all set up like this as well.