1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cooling Fan controllers, pump relay

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by abezors, 21 Sep 2010.

1. abezors

abezors Lurking since '08

I have a Scythe Kaze Master fan controller, which has a maximum load of 1 amp per channel.

I would like to have some basic control over my water cooling pump (EK DCP 4.0), and thought I could rig it up to this. However, this pump draws 1.8 - 2 amps (depending on load/ startup draw etc). This also means I can't plug it into motherboard headers (Gigabyte have 1a max).

Since I don't want to overload the Scythe controller, I was thinking of using a relay - the fan controller's potentiometers would hopefully control (but not power) a separate power source for the pump.

Alternatively I could buy a different fan controller, but there aren't many that have suitable power delivery AND match my case (brushed black aluminium. My Scythe has a custom fascia).

If all else fails I will resort to using a 5v resistor cable (pump starting voltage is rated at 8v, though mine runs fine at 5v).

So, does anybody have any experience, thoughts or pointers? (PS I noticed there are plenty of pump + relay guides on the net, but nothing like this. They are all aimed at 240v mains AC pumps that are plugged into the wall).

2. DragunovHUN

DragunovHUN Modder

For what it's worth, i ran my XSPC X2O pump-res combo off of a Zalman MFC1. It ended up leaking but i'm sure that's not a result of controlling it. I think MaverickWill ended up finding the leak and fixing it, too.

3. capnPedro

capnPedro Hacker. Maker. Engineer.

It doesn't work that way.

Also, be careful with the resistor cable. If the current draw is very high, it will burn out the resistor. You'd be better off swapping which pins on the molex cable it's connected to, so the pump is either 5v or 7v powered.

4. Big Elf

Big Elf Oh no! Not another f----ing elf!