1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Education I want to get into wetshaving [Update: I got into it]

Discussion in 'General' started by DragunovHUN, 4 Oct 2010.

1. Fule

Fule The letter D

I've been using a Merkur for a few years now. Once you get used to it and let the weight of the razor do the work, your face will love you for it. A good brush (badger, natch) will see you right on the soap front. Take it easy and no rash moves:lol:

/gets coat

2. Smilodon

Smilodon The Antagonist

Shower, dab on some foam and shave with the grain. (Against the grain is only for when you want a really close shave, but ten you need a fresh blade)

Oh, and don't wait until you look like a hobo. If you wait too long skin will get irritated.

BTW, real men can handle the irritation. ;)

3. DragunovHUN

DragunovHUN Modder

Foam dries out my skin. According to the wetshaving propaganda i've read lather from a shaving soap or cream should be far superior. Apparently i'll impress all the ladies.

Real men can also decide to cut their face off with old-fashioned tools in an attempt to avoid irritation. ;)

4. smashie

smashie Cupid Stunt

Hi,

I've been wet shaving for 24 (ish) years now and I've tried a lot of different products.

1. don't bother with the foam in can, it's crap and you will never get a good shave with it. Geo. F Trumper, Trufitt & Hill, The Art of Shaving, D R Harris or Edwin Jagger (soaps, creams or gels) they cost from £7.50 to about £35 in a nice wooden bowl. £35 might sound alot but that soap in a bowl will last for months.

2. Badger, badger, badger, cheap synthetic or boar's hair brushes are easy to find and will whip up a quick lather, but to quote 'wetshaving.net' "after that you may as well go outside and gather up a bunch of twigs with which to apply that nice frothy lather"