1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Overclocking Newbie overclocking i3 530

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by hotnikkelz, 6 Oct 2010.

1. hotnikkelz

hotnikkelz What's a Dremel?

Ok guys, I've got my rig set up with an H55M UD2H board, Gelid tranquillo. My CPU temp is at 32 celcius. I'd like to overclock it as much as possible with stock voltages and that's it.

Any guidance from the top, will be appreciated because I have no idea what I'm doing :)

2. Fingers66

Fingers66 Kiwi in London

3. hotnikkelz

Read through that guide, but I'm really really new at this. The hardware i.e the RAM is different, so I didn't know how to tinker with it.

the RAM I'm using is a Corsair CL9 1600. My Bios configured it to run at 1333mhz, with 9 9 9 24 timings (factory timings in other words)

I have no idea what precautions I should take, should i just jump right into it, should I just put in the settings in the pictures. I dunno :/ Also i'd like to not fiddle with the voltages.

4. Fingers66

Fingers66 Kiwi in London

The latest issue of CPC also has a guide of how to overclock.

5. hotnikkelz

I'm from the Caribbean, Trinidad to be precise, I won't be able to get my hands on CPC unless they sell digital copies, in which case I'd love to buy it

6. trig

trig god's little mistake

wasnt able to get much out of mine on stock volts without stability issues. think i got about 300 mhz on it stable (again, stock volts)...not sure what ur board bios is like, but adjust ur ram ratio to keep it running lower freq than stock, keep ur qpi ratio adjusted to keep that lower than stock as well, and just hit the cpu freq setting for 10-20 a pop till you hit a wall, then back it off a bit and see what you can get out of ur ram (prolly not much on stock volts).

but really, the performance increase vs the headache of trying to get a stable oc isnt worth it if ur trying to keep it on stock volts imho...

7. Fingers66