1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice High-end gaming PC - build advice

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by alex!, 24 Oct 2010.

1. Ph4ZeD

Ph4ZeD What's a Dremel?

I game at 1920x1200, mainly BC2, and finding a 6870 plenty. He can try a single card, and he has the PSU and motherboard to drop in another if need be.

2. stonedScientist

stonedScientist What's a Dremel?

***I'm no expert but if you're planning to play older games like Battlefield 2 or something you might want to consider getting Windows 7 Pro just for the added Windows XP mode for compatibility issues.

I could be wrong though.**

EDIT: I am wrong. Never mind that!

Gaming PC's are built around the gpu so if you want a super high end rig wait for the 5970 equivalent in the 6xxx series ;) That's probably over kill but at least you'll have the fastest gpu if it's anything to go by the 5970.

And it'll save getting a new gpu when you come to upgrade your monitor.

Last edited: 25 Oct 2010
  3. xp-T

xp-T What's a Dremel?

i would of gone with a 256GB solid state hard drive as my main if it was just for gaming,if not...id go for a 2TB drive for my main and have a dedicated SSD hard drive just for games with yes,you guessed it...windows 7 64bit pro lol

Last edited: 25 Oct 2010
  4. stonedScientist

256GB SSD's come in at over 400 quid! Surely that's not worth it. An SSD (64GB or 128GB, whichever suits your budget) as a boot drive with just enough space for your latest games and a 2TB drive for storage seems the much better option I reckon

5. xp-T

xp-T What's a Dremel?

to be honest id be saving my money till they make a 1TB SSD,then i know id be safe from being the owner of an outdated p.c in less than 4years lol i payed £800 for this p.d and its 2 year old...already outdated to the point where you can make one for £300-£400

6. xp-T

xp-T What's a Dremel?