1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Graphics GPU Advice

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bmezz19, 26 Jan 2011.

1. bmezz19

bmezz19 ...not a morning person!

Hi,

I've been holding off buying a graphics card for the past 4 months or so; wanting to see the entire-line up and the nvidia response to the AMD cards. I don't really want to spend more than about £300, so that rules out the GTX580 or the HD5970. My mobo only has one x16 pci-e so SLI/Crossfire is also out. Thus I'm a bit confused at what to do; my current ideas are a HD6950 modded to a 6970 (unfounded worry that any driver revisions/updates could cause problems later on, dunno how likely that is), an actual HD6970 or a GTX570. I game at 1920x1200, and have a dual monitor setup for when I'm just working, doubtful that will increase to 3 monitors anytime soon. What are people's thoughts? Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

2. Phalanx

Phalanx Needs more dragons and stuff.

I'm running a 28" at 1920x1200 and use a GTX580, and that's overkill on full settings.

I would say you'll be fine with a 570 or maybe even the new 560 that's just released. The 560 got a sparkling review from Bit-Tech too.

3. Margo Baggins

Margo Baggins I'm good at Soldering Super Moderator

Dont worry about driver updates or revisions buggering up a flashed card as it wont. Once the card is flashed the os see's it as the new card, always, no way for it to tell otherwise. Have had many different flashed cards.

I game at 1920x1200 and use a 5870, which seems mostly fine at most games.

4. wyx087

wyx087 Homeworld 3 is happening!!

what is your current card? ati or nvidia?

i'd sa go with gtx570, and use your current card to drive the 2nd non-gaming monitor.

5. bmezz19