1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding recommended cable sleeving kits or methods?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by ac22297, 14 Feb 2011.

1. ac22297

ac22297 What's a Dremel?

Hi all,

Got some cable sleeving to do for my mod (link in sig) but I've never done it before - I have 2 cables to do, one has a magnet or something halfway along which makes it quite wide - the other splits into 2 parts and is very thin.

I was thinking about just getting a load of heatshrink from my friendly local hardware store and blasting it with my heatgun for a while, but it occurred to me that wouldn't look all that good.

Anyone know of a good kit or similar I could get online in the UK? Better still somewhere I could get just the bits I want and the colour I want rather than a "this kit sleeves 2 IDE cables" type job?

2. Editor22

Editor22 E22 | Hex-Gear

3. Tealc

Tealc What's a Dremel?

I'd use braided sleeving as suggested for the main part of the cable and then use some adhesive lined heatshrink for the ferrite core, so that it doesn't move around once you are done.

The ferrite core is there to recuce noise issues from the cable so you shouldn't remove it.

4. Guest-23315

Guest-23315 Guest

Every time you individually sleeve a cable I am going to kill a kitten.

5. ac22297

ac22297 What's a Dremel?

Thanks!
    Great links, will be going with some stuff from aquatuning I think. That MDPC-X stuff is nice but I'm not that rich :)

It already has something like that around it, doesn't move around on the cable.
    I won't take it off, looks like a right pain in the arse if I do :S

that's ok, i don't like cats.
    but don't go near any puppies :nono:

6. Blarte

Blarte Moderate Modder

recommended cable sleeving kits or methods?

I recommend the "getting someone else to do it" method ..

7. KidMod-Southpaw

KidMod-Southpaw Super Spamming Saiyan