1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CPU Intel Q6600 still cut it?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by aLtikal, 26 May 2011.

1. aLtikal

aLtikal 1338-One step infront of the pro's

Ok I'm probeing the idea of an upgrade.

I'm a student, so money is obv tight.

Are Q6600's (Overclocked) still cutting it these days for Gaming (BC2 atm + Upcoming BF3)

Rest of my rig would be staying the same. (4gb RAM/1gb 5770)

Cant really afford to upgrade to a new Mobo and i5 unfortunately but wondering if its worth it atall.

2. Ph4ZeD

Ph4ZeD What's a Dremel?

They will "cut" it, but its really far behind the gaming standard now. Yes its a quad core, but don't let that fool you. The architecture and clock speeds are really very far behind what you can buy at a reasonable cost.

3. mucgoo

mucgoo Minimodder

It would do a fine job. However it may be worth waiting 2 weeks for AMD's next gen set of CPU's. Bindi hinted in this thread that its going to be very reasonably priced so you may be able to get a modern quad core.
    http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?t=209911

4. meandmymouth

meandmymouth Multimodder

What is your budget?

5. Blogins

Blogins Panda have Guns

I would say your rig is fine and if you wanted to upgrade then an appreciable leap could be had through swapping that 5770 for something more substantial be it in the AMD or Nvidia camp.

6. mrbungle

mrbungle Undercooked chicken giver

Depends on the game.

In Battlefield Bad Company 2 for example it is a superb cpu due to the game being very very well threaded.

However in games which only use a couple of cores your going to find it lacking a little.

Id say you will be fine.

7. chrisb2e9

chrisb2e9 Dont do that...

Try to remember one important point when it comes to gaming. Frames per second come from the video card. I have a 6970 overclocked with a Q6600 running at 2.8ghz.