1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A/V 50" Plasma suggestions

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ModSquid, 8 Jun 2011.

1. ModSquid

ModSquid Multimodder

Hi all,

Having had to put my current project on hold (after receiving some superb advice from one of the forum members - much appreciated) I'm having to look for a replacement TV. It's almost definitely going to be a plasma, 50" or above, used for gaming and HD viewing (films, mostly) and doesn't have to be bargain bucket, but certainly not intending to pay through the nose either.

Have narrowed it down to a few models, a couple of favourites being the LG 50PK590 and the Samsung PS50C6900 - I have no experience of either of these, but have seen a working 50PK350(?) at a friend's house, whereas my experience of Samsung plasmas dates back about five years, when they were spectacularly rubbish (in my opinion).

The model they're replacing is a Panasonic TH42PX60 - just wondered if anyone had any thoughts?

Cheers,
    Squiddy

2. Cleggmeister

Cleggmeister Of reasonable knowledge...

Stick with Panasonic IMHO. I see a lot of panels and they're still the best for reasonable money. And if you can, look at a 60" too. 50" is great but 60" is epic for movies and games.

3. TheStockBroker

TheStockBroker Modder

May I ask why plasma?

I'd hoped they'd have stopped producing them by now...

TSB

4. adam_bagpuss

adam_bagpuss Have you tried turning it off/on ?

are you set on plasma ?

UK based ?

i would certainly not buy old plasmas but new ones are thin and produce a great picture but to be honest LCD LED give the same picture nowadays.

id say if your buying a new TV today it must have as standard 1080p + HD freeview + netcast DLNA services (unless you know your getting HD from sky or virgin)

5. Puzzu

Puzzu What's a Dremel?

:thumb:
    I agree stick with the panny if you had one before, others will always seem a lesser TV.