1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motors Motorcycle Mayhem

Discussion in 'General' started by RTT, 24 Feb 2009.

1. The RAM

The RAM Minimodder

I got 1 minor on the Mod 1 for being 1kph too slow on my first avoidance run. Got 51kph the second time round, so was bang on. Sadly my budget for new bikes is rather tight, if currently none-existent... :( I've been earning £280 a month for the past 15 months so not exactly mr rich! Took me most of that time to save up for the lessons and tests.

Thanks! If you're able to point me in the right direction of where to look for good enough 1st bikes. Learnt on a cbf500 with abs, and would love to try to find something similar to get me started. Gear isn't an issue as got all that already. :)

2. EvilMerc

EvilMerc Minimodder

Honda CB500, cheap to buy, repair and insure. Apparently it's great fun to ride, it's indestructible and it's economical too.

It's what I was looking at before I considered buying new.

3. julianmartin

julianmartin resident cyborg.

The issue I found with bikes in that sort of price category is they all have umpteen owners, so it's always going to be a significant risk as you have no idea how it's been treated, whether you had some wannabe rossi upshifting all the time with no clutch, how many times it's been binned, etc etc. I was lucky with mine as it was off an ex-student of my instructor so I had a vague amount of trust there that it wasn't a heap to start with - there are certainly things wrong with mine though, front brake is shot etc etc.

I think eBay is probably a bit sketchy as I've heard of and know of people who just use it to shift their imminently dying motorbikes - many of which have deathtrap potential. Have you got a mate who is very experienced in bike mechanics? If so, take him whenever you view something.