1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Storage SSD vs HDD

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by KASxxWill, 1 Aug 2011.

1. KASxxWill

KASxxWill What's a Dremel?

I'm kind of new to this whole, custom PC building thing, but after doing some research, (and even after this research I'm still gonna get flaked), I've basically come up with the assumption...

Solid State Drives are generally ONLY faster and more energy efficient than traditional hard drives. SSDs don't store as much, nor, from what I read, work as well either.

I only recently heard about SSD's, so I'm assuming they haven't been around long or as widely appreciated or whatever... but any reasons WHY I should consider a SSD over a traditional Hard Drive? Thanks again for any help.

2. KASxxWill

KASxxWill What's a Dremel?

Bump*

3. rv88uk

rv88uk What's a Dremel?

In a desktop pc it's generally not HDD or SSD, you purchase the SSD to supplement HDD (maybe in netbooks you'd go for only an SSD, but that's a different situation all together). Doing this you get the (incredible) speed of an SSD alongside the larger capacity of older style hard drives. I think SSDs are pretty reliable now, they are still fairly new tech but they're quickly gaining favour due to the returns they bring, and the returns are very noticeable.

4. Bloody_Pete

Bloody_Pete Technophile

Why is a Porche preferrable to a Prople carrier?

I run 3 x 1TB HDD's in a RAID 5 and 2 x 80GB SSD's, one for OS and one for Steam. So I have masses of cheap storage for media and so forth, but my machine boots insanelt fast, programs load instantly and games effectively have no loading time.