1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

News No new Nvidia GPU this year

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by Baz, 8 Aug 2011.

1. LedHed

LedHed What's a Dremel?

I love how everyone acts like 1080p is "full HD" when talking about gaming, I've been playing at 1200p for over 4 years now. Also there is nothing wrong with the GTX 480 as long as you aren't worried about power consumption and you are using after market cooling. The card was not a "mistake," they just couldn't use a single SM unit to increase yield, big deal. A heavily OC'd 480 can break 6000P in 3DMark11, something a stock 580 can not on the same CPU (this should show the little difference between the two.) Of course the 580 is the better card with a vapor chamber and better power consumption plus the single missing SM unit. However I'm playing with a Q9550@4ghz + 8Gb DDR2 1066 + GTX 480 850/4000 on a 24" BenQ FP241W (1920x1200p) and I have yet to find a game that would even make me think about new hardware. If a game does run poorly and you check the forums, guys with 580s and i5/i7 are having the exact same problems.

2. Elton

Elton Officially a Whisky Nerd

I'm running a HD6850. Once the new generation is out, I think I'll actually go crossfire for once. It's about time, and plus it looks facking sexy.

3. Sloth

Sloth #yolo #swag

Running on a 5870, probably going to buy at the same price point with the next gen. Crossfire may look sexy, but the 7970 has an awesome looking and sounding name.

Because as any true PC enthusiast knows, performance is one thing, appeal is another. :D

4. thehippoz

thehippoz What's a Dremel?

you could have sold the 480 awhile back.. the cards are way too power hungry for what they do

5. SolidShot

SolidShot Minimodder

whats the point of rushing? theres nothing that can challenge THIS gen graphics cards and SB chipsets!