1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apple SSD to replace HDD on my new Macbook Pro 15"

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Tele1952, 30 Aug 2011.

1. Tele1952

Tele1952 What's a Dremel?

Hey guys,

I know, I'm getting a Mac, I'm such a conformist tw*t but hey, I'm a musician who needs Logic Pro. I'm thinking of getting the 2.0Ghz 15" MBP but I'm not prepared to pay a disgusting amount for more RAM or an SSD preinstalled...

So basically I'd love some advice on replacing the HDD for a sexy SSD. Which model would you recommend? The OCZ Vertex 3?

Watched this video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iv91m2z6DPY)...am I right in thinking to reinstall the OS I need the HDD still intact to transfer it??

Or can it be done by just replacing the HDD only...assuming I'll need an OS CD to do that?

Sorry for the nooby questions, I'm so inexperienced, I've built my own PC but that's like lego really. I'd really appreciate your help!

Thanks in advance

Timmy

|P6T Deluxe V2|Intel i7 920|6Gb Corsair RAM|Dell 2209WA 22"|Sapph ATI 5850|Win 7 64bit|

2. fdbh96

fdbh96 What's a Dremel?

If you wanted you could put the hdd where the optical bay (converter needed) for storage and then the ssd (crucial m4/corsair force 3 or gt/vertex 3) for OS and applications where the hdd used to be. That is if you can manage without a optical drive :)

3. Shabing

Shabing What's a Dremel?

4. Shabing

Shabing What's a Dremel?

Argh! *macbook

5. faugusztin

faugusztin I *am* the guy with two left hands

X25-M/Intel 320 series. Anything else is a huge risk right now. There are known issues with Crucial C300/m4/Intel 510 Series, as well with Sandforce 2xxx based SSD's, where many have issues with SSD's stopping in middle of instalation, if you can find them in the first place at all. Or freezes because of LPM....

Simply put, if you want a SSD in Macbook, don't bother with SATA3 drives yet.