1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Education Using bicycle helmet cameras?

Discussion in 'General' started by bigsharn, 29 Oct 2011.

1. sp4nky

sp4nky BF3: Aardfrith WoT: McGubbins

Ah yes, I see it now. Thanks for point that out.

2. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

You can clearly see there isn't a straight ahead option unless you want to meet that fence. I've seen the junction myself on google maps, there is a LEFT and a RIGHT, to the left there's a little narrow thing and a bend off to the right but there is no straight ahead. This can clearly be seen in the video(s).
    I'm going to take the "there is a straight ahead, the fence doesn't exist" along with the "everyone else is in the wrong, not me" making it invalid.

3. liratheal

liratheal Sharing is Caring

The roads I've seen it happen on, more so recently, have been resurfaced (And I mean properly, not that tar/gravel ****) within the last three years, and do not have anything that should phase a cyclist. Upcoming parked cars are also very rarely an issue, as there aren't a great deal of houses along most of the roads, and the businesses all have off-road parking.

I'm not sure how you arrive at that conclusion. Country lanes are narrow, the ones I tend to use have just enough room to get two vehicles past. Two cyclists occupying an entire half of the road riding two abreast is not easier to pass than a single file line. Nor is it easier to pass on larger, busier, roads - Because to give the cyclists enough space you need to go further into the oncoming lane. Not safe for anyone involved.

Unless riding two abreast means I can, like some drivers I've seen, pass with inches between the wing mirror and the rider?

I don't sit in rush hour traffic. I avoid congestion like the plague.