1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Help - first build has gone wrong :(

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by kopkin, 1 Dec 2011.

1. kopkin

kopkin What's a Dremel?

Hi all

this is my first build.

I've installed the cpu/fan/mobo into the case and plugged in the top chassis exhaust fan and cpu fan. i connect the power supply connectors to both mobo power sockets (24pin eatxpwr and 8 pin eatx 12v).

i power on, the two sets of fans come on but the cpu led on the mobo turns red. the mobo doesn't seem to have anywhere to plug in a monitor (and my graphics card doesn't arrive until tomorrow) so i'm not sure what is happening in bios. i then have to turn off the psu using it's switch as the chassis on/off button does not respond.

I've tried removing the ram and reinstalling it but nothing changes. i haven't tried removing the mobo and/or cpu yet.

Can anyone help?

i was a bit worried because the mobo flap feeled to be almost crushing the cpu when i locked it down. could i have damaged the cpu?

ft02 chassis
    asus p67 mobo
    i7 2600k cpu
    thermaltake silver arrow fan
    antec 1200 hc pro cpu

2. Throbbi

Throbbi What's a Dremel?

So long as the CPU was lined up correctly with it's locating notches then it will be fine. As far as I know you can't damage a CPU at all that way, provided all was located correctly.

First thing I would suggest is just leave it well alone until you have some form of visual output to tell you what is happening when you power on. Until then it's kinda pointless, like listening for a phone call when the phone is on silent.

Chill and wait dude, IF there is a problem I'm sure we can sort it once you know what's going on at power up.

3. kopkin

kopkin What's a Dremel?

thanks mate :clap:

you have made me feel slightly better! i'll post back tomorrow after i get the graphics card.