1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hardware Raspberry Pi review

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by brumgrunt, 16 Apr 2012.

1. ssj12

ssj12 Minimodder

since i am a novice at this sort of thing, how is this powered?

2. badders

badders Neuken in de Keuken

Yes, they stood a glass of water next to it.

3. Gareth Halfacree

Gareth Halfacree WIIGII! Lover of bit-tech Administrator Super Moderator Moderator

It has a microUSB port. Just plug any old tablet or phone charger in and you're away - or use a powered USB hub. The whole thing runs on 5V 700mA, or 5V 500mA for the Model A (the Ethernet circuitry and integrated USB hub account for the extra 200mA.)

Well, I say 'any old charger,' but I found that it didn't like the charger for my HP TouchPad - which is odd, 'cos it's a 5V 2A model. Swapped it out for a 5V 1A I had lying around and all was well. Still haven't figured that one out...

4. MiNiMaL_FuSS

MiNiMaL_FuSS ƬӇЄƦЄ ƁЄ ƇƠƜƧ ӇЄƦЄ.

This.

Happy to be proven wrong?

5. Guinevere

Guinevere Mega Mom

And is also a bit stuck in the past. Adobe have stated they will never again bring Flash to any new platforms and are basically on housekeeping duties for their existing releases.

Flash is now unnecessary, and it's just a matter of time before the HTML 5 toolchains catch up fully.

6. Gareth Halfacree

Gareth Halfacree WIIGII! Lover of bit-tech Administrator Super Moderator Moderator

If you're anxious to get your hands on a Pi, Farnell has just re-opened pre-orders at just shy of £30 - and it's throwing a free T-shirt into the mix.

http://t.co/wI4624lm

7. murkle

murkle What's a Dremel?

Java works fine for me:
    sudo apt-get install openjdk-6-jre

8. Blackshark

Blackshark What's a Dremel?