1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Planning 1st mod - Advice needed - drilling my first M3 hole

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Siskods9, 11 Oct 2012.

1. Siskods9

Siskods9 What's a Dremel?

Hi,

I'd like to ask for some really basic help (its ok to laugh!)...

I've been building PC's for about 18 years now but never really ventured into modding until now.

I have a Corsair 600T and want to mount a Phobya 200mm rad in the front of the case where normally a 200mm fan would reside.

My goal is very similar to an existing thread on this forum
    http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?t=224683

The metal skeleton of the case will need to be drilled to accommodate the required 4 M3 screws.

So I think I need to drill 3mm holes (no tapping required) to allow the screws to 'pass through'.

Assuming that I'm correct about the 3mm drill bit size, I was thinking about using a standard drill bit not a step drill. Is this ok?

I would also like to ensure there are no rough edges and to repaint any scratching that may occur on the metal which seems to be a black satin finish.

However I'm unsure of how best to go about tidying up after the drilling is done, filing rough edges, painting, type of paint etc... Will I need a Dremel with a grinding disc?

I was going to strip out the motherboard and all other components before doing any drilling and once completed, was going to blow out the modded area with a can of compressed air to make sure there are no residual metal filings or shards that could potentially kill my rig once I reassemble and power it up.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? I'd really appreciate the help.

I'll post pics when I'm done!

Thanks fellas...

Last edited: 11 Oct 2012
  2. jay2

jay2 Indonesian Modder

If you only want to drill, just drill it... a standard drill is OK..
    I used to drill with my dremmel drill bit (too lazy to pick my drill)