1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Noob PC build

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dannygar, 13 Oct 2012.

1. dannygar

dannygar What's a Dremel?

hi all

im looking to build my first pc and im a little wet behind the ears
    iv only ever owned 2 computers before 1 given to me as a 30th birthday present 7yrs ago
    and the dell optipelex im running now (3gig p4 2gig ram andd a radeon x1300 cost £40 from fleabay as a temp measure as was a similar spec to me defunct 1st comp)
    i have a 19" dell monitor and speakers that will do for the moment im looking to get a tower only
    now im fairly handy with screwdrivers hammers and pliers involved with building a pc (sparky by trade)
    its the choice of components i was struggling with and wanted some input
    its hard to decifer whats best without it being a numbers game x gpu has a higher number than y gpu therefore it must be better i know it doesn't always work like that.
    i want to get the best i can afford working on the principle if i get the bare bones correct at first i can upgrade in the future without having to start from scratch again

i have around £5/600 to spend

my wishlist is
    i5 3570 (possibly to overclock in the future)
    cpu cooler
    sli ready motherboard
    6/700w psu (sli compatible)
    8 gig of ram
    nvidia gpu (sli ready)
    500gig hdd (one of my existing drives may have sata connections so i may get a ssd instead 120gig)
    dvd rw (again i may be able to drag 1 out of my old pc)
    case either a mid/full tower nothing flashy as long as the usb ports are on the top or the top of the front (i hate bending down to plug stuff in lol)

hope this makes sense

looking forward to your input

dan

2. dannygar

Just checked all my existing drives are ide I forgot to say I want the computer for my son and I want to dip my toes into pc gaming I currently am playing minecraft

Thanks

Dan