1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SketchUp Sketchup Components Collection (SCC) Discussion

Discussion in 'Modding' started by jezmck, 25 Nov 2003.

1. randomhero

randomhero Minimodder

2. Sutura

Sutura What's a Dremel?

How do people make the scaled models in SketchUP

Hi all,

I was browsing the SketchUP gallery for a model of a riser card and I keep asking myself. How do they make them so accurate>? I mean how do you know how big a capacitor is, let alone the thousand small details? I've seen last year on the Scandinavian Industrial Expo, a couple of machines that can scan anything in 3D, from toothpick to let's say gearbox, but I doubt a person has one at home, I mean they are pretty costly. I am not an engineer or something, that's why it is curious to me :)

3. Nexxo

Nexxo * Prefab Sprout – The King of Rock 'n' Roll

Calliper and ruler, basically. We measure everything on the item that is to be modelled as accurately as possible.

4. IanW

IanW Grumpy Old Git

Many electronic component manufacturers now provide 3D models of their products, which can speed up modelling a board considerably.

5. Mick64

Mick64 Dream Modeller

Decided to go public with my case design SketchUp models. Feel free to download and build, if you have the resources. Be warned, these files are very large! Download from here. Enjoy! :thumb:

Nexxo likes this.
  6. Nexxo

Nexxo * Prefab Sprout – The King of Rock 'n' Roll

+ rep for your generous contribution. :thumb:

7. The_Beast

The_Beast I like wood ಠ_ಠ

Do you have any Autocad DWG files of that case?

8. Mick64

Mick64 Dream Modeller

No I'm afraid not, but if someone has SketchUp Pro, they may be able to export the SketchUp models in dwg format.

9. ShinyAli

ShinyAli What's a Dremel?

Can't you import .skp files into your CAD program?