1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Equipment Which Nikon Lens

Discussion in 'Photography, Art & Design' started by Prime, 12 Feb 2013.

1. Prime

Prime What's a Dremel?

Hi,

I am in a conundrum as to which lens to buy.

I would like to replace my rather tired 18-55mm lens. The lens came with my D50 and has become rather floppy. As I am a student on a limited budget, i mostly buy second hand lenses.

My local camera shop currently has several lenses that would be a good fit but I'm a little lost on what to get.

My current gear is a Nikon D50, 50mm F1.8D, 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G and an 18-55mm F3.5 - 5.6G ED (1) lens. I also have a Nikon extension tube. In the long term I want to get an ultrawide zoom and a new body funds willing

Which would be a good investment?

AF 35-70mm f2.8D
    AF-S 18-105mm f3.5-5.6 VR
    AF 28-105mm f3.5-4.5D

They also have a D40 and 18-55mm kit lens for the same price. :confused:

Any advice would be appreciated?

2. eddie_dane

eddie_dane Used to mod pc's now I mod houses

I have the 35-70mm lens and without knowing what you really want to shoot, I can tell you that this is a great lens from an investment standpoint. I purchased one second hand years ago because I needed something to fill in the gap between my 17-35 and my 70-200 and Nikon had just come out with the new 24-70 but it was way to expensive. My plan was to buy this lens until I could get the 24-70. I've never really thought about it since.

It's not going to be a "wide" lens on your D50 but it is a great all-rounder and is one of my go-to lenses for portraits. It's built like a tank. It can be prone to flaring. I purchased a rubber hood for mine to help with that.

3. Prime

Prime What's a Dremel?

Thanks. I am kinda leaning towards the 35-70mm as well. (Although they have two at different prices so I need to find out why)

Um, I shoot all sorts: