1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How much do you earn/should I earn?

Discussion in 'Serious' started by sotu1, 30 Apr 2013.

1. Votick

Votick My CPU's hot but my core runs cold.

I work as a Field Engineer/ 2nd Line Support. I work for Deathtakers competitor I guess you could say. :) (I also know him from College)

Been with the company for 1 year 9 months and on £21K.
    Jobs alright, I have pretty decent quals but they seem to bring nout extra :/

Guess that's the way the cookie crumbles... oh well.
    Hopefully once I get into networking that will pay some more wonga ;D

Last edited: 5 May 2013
  2. julianmartin

julianmartin resident cyborg.

The not driving thing is a bit of a pickle but you're effectively being paid at a rate for unskilled labour whilst the work you do clearly is skilled labour. Perhaps you're part time and your employer is extremely flexible about your education - perhaps not. Doesn't sound entirely fair to me but then I think there is more to your situation than you have explained?

Minimum wage at 20 is not great, I'd expect a tenner an hour for what you're doing, maybe £15 if you are truly **** hot. I say this because that'd be what I be willing to pay as an employer.

3. supermonkey

supermonkey Deal with it

I'm in a different country, but perhaps the numbers will provide a point of reference. I'm in my mid-30s, have a college degree, and do various multimedia work in a non-management role for a government contractor. I've worked with the same company for about 10 years now (about 6 years in my current position). After taxes, medical insurance, retirement, and other miscellaneous deductions, my net pay is somewhere in the low-£20K area.

4. sotu1

sotu1 Ex-Modder

Which country supermonkey? Cost of living in other countries usually varies and skews what you earn

5. Nexxo

Nexxo * Prefab Sprout – The King of Rock 'n' Roll