1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rant IT Departments

Discussion in 'General' started by Margo Baggins, 20 Aug 2013.

1. Margo Baggins

Margo Baggins I'm good at Soldering Super Moderator

I do not understand quite how it was so hard for me to get myself a decent job in IT, to build up my experience to get to where I am today when there is people in the industry, probably earning more than me, doing what they are doing and doing their jobs with the pitiful excuse for knowledge that they have. I am not saying, that I know everything, I definitely don't - some people will know that from some of the SOS messages I post up here for when I need help with stuff.

A bit of back ground on me - I am an IT Engineer, predominantly I support small to medium business' who have no IT departments (as they have me) but I have a few clients where they are of a size where they have an IT department, and I support their IT departments and provide them with consultation, strategic help etc.

at 15:30 yesterday one of my sites went down, completely down, geographically its 80 miles from me so I can't just nip over and check. I was told that one of the DSL lines had gone down, but also the server was acting funny. Then I was told that BT recognise that there is a fault on the line and they are working to fix it - I kind of left it that I couldn't check out their server until I could dial in - the server was fully roaring, like going full pelt, as I could hear it over the phone.

This morning, they still had no DSL, I was on another site where all hell had also broken loose, so it took me 2 hours this morning sorting the site I was on, whilst chatting to my other site trying to at least work out what was going on.