1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 7 or 8.1

Discussion in 'Software' started by MightyBenihana, 21 Oct 2013.

?

Win 7 or 8.1 for a new build

Poll closed 31 Oct 2013.
  1. Windows 7

27 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. Windows 8.1

27 vote(s)
    50.0%
  1. MightyBenihana

MightyBenihana Do or do not, there is no try

My friend is putting together a new mITX system and he has asked me this.

"If you were buying windows today, would you get windows 7 or 8.1".

I have Windows 7 and I am very happy with it but I have zero experience of 8.1.

So, what would you do?

2. Comrade Woody

Comrade Woody Obsolete

There's already the marmite thread (and poll) where people have been arguing over 7 vs 8 for a long time, you may want to go there and have a read if you haven't already, but you'll find opinion is divided.

There's also this thread discussing 8.1

Personally I use 7 Pro on my own PC. I have only worked with 8 briefly on a laptop for my landlord but the experience was far from positive. I won't go into a rant about everything I think's wrong with it because there's enough of that in the marmite thread, but suffice to say I really don't like it and would personally buy 7.

3. Teelzebub

Teelzebub Up yours GOD,Whats best served cold

There's nothing wrong with win 8.1 just means you have to find your way around a different lay out but tbh I still prefer win 7

4. GeorgeStorm

GeorgeStorm Aggressive PC Builder

I currently use 7, but I'll be making the switch to 8.1 tomorrow if everything goes to plan. Thought why not since I'm installing from scratch in any case, worst comes to worst and I don't like it? Wipe and install W7 :p

5. MightyBenihana

MightyBenihana Do or do not, there is no try

I read both threads but it was more about details rather than overall experience for the average user, so I started my own poll. Sorry if this crosses over into the other though.

6. itrush07