1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Kerbal Space Program

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Zinfandel, 13 Jul 2011.

1. .//TuNdRa

.//TuNdRa Resident Bulldozer Guru

Ever had those days where you just want to punch physics in the junk as hard as you possibly can?

[​IMG]

Ironically; that actually flies better than just about anything else I've built thus far.

2. adrock

adrock Caninus Nervous Rex

So, maybe i'm going nuts or something, but...

I started playing KSP again over the weekend. between a stinking cold and having a house guest who's pretty keen on space, we sat and spent a long time trying to get stable orbiters in career mode.

Now, i remember the first time i gave KSP a go i needed to add an SAS module to enable SAS, i always had it attached to the command pod or cockpit just above their decoupler. So, not finding this in the list I assumed i'd need to research it and kept trying to get science.

Turned out, after several prototypes (mk 1 through 9, plus revision on 3, 5, and 6 (several of which were designed with infinite fuel in mind so i could get used to adjusting orbits), that SAS is included by default in all the cockpit modules.

Am I going nuts, was this always the case? On the one hand, it suddenly got much easier and i'm pretty close now to getting to the moon (my friend crashed into it). Also, it turns out despite really heavy spin, I can get into orbit with two stages without SAS (where stage 1 is solid fuel boosters to ~8,000m). It's not a pretty orbit, but i can get up there and de-orbit and land safely without SAS.

Any tips for getting to Mun? I also read this thread last ngiht and saw the stuff on taking soil samples and doing EVAs and getting reports, so I'm going to re-fly a lot of my older designs tonight to get all the tasty science.