1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Building my first PC

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by WimboJallis121, 2 Sep 2014.

1. WimboJallis121

WimboJallis121 What's a Dremel?

Hey everyone,
    Going to be building my first custom PC soon. I'm still pretty new to this so I'm still learning, I just wanted to make sure that everything's okay and that I've not missed anything. I would appreciate ANY advice from you, with everything from components/hardware to assembling it, as well as anything else. It will be heavily used for gaming, but mainly for recording/editing music (mainly with ProTools, FL Studio 9 Pro and Reaper) as I produce my own music.

So here it is.

CPU Intel i7 4790K (Devils Canyon)
    Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X
    RAM Corsair Vengance 16GB DDR3
    Graphics Card Asus GeForce GTX 770
    PSU Corsair HX650
    HDD Western Digital Caviar Green 3TB
    SSD Intel 530 Series 240GB
    Case Corsair 200R Carbide

and incase you were interested...

Mouse Gigabyte M698x
    Keyboard Gigabyte Force K7

At the moment this is going to cost £972.99
    When I purchase everything I will also get any extra fans/cables if needed, as well as a disk drive. I have a monitor, OS and speakers, so shouldn't need to budget for anything else.

Let me know what you guys think of it, and if you have any suggestions let me know. As I also said I'd appreciate any help about putting together as well.
    Thanks in advance! :thumb:

Last edited: 4 Sep 2014
  2. GaryP

GaryP RIP Tel

+1 on the AIO water cooler.

3. WimboJallis121

thanks, looks like I'll need to look into a cooler. is water cooling really necessary though?

4. Corky42

Corky42 Where's walle?

Extra fans ? AFAIK the 200R only comes with two.
    Some decent quality TIM, the goop that comes with most heatsinks is normally pretty poor.

5. MightyBenihana

MightyBenihana Do or do not, there is no try