1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"It's the internet so......"

Discussion in 'Serious' started by Risky, 7 Nov 2014.

1. Risky

Risky Modder

THis is about the attidude I've noticed to abuse and hate speach online recently. I'm sure it has been around for ages but since most of my online activity was confinded to some well-moderated forums such as this one, I've had a bit of a shock when I started playing an online game (World of Tanks) a couple of years ago.

Now this could be a post about in-game flaming, but from the responses I have had there I wonder if it is part of a broader issue. Given the talk in the media about the abuse some people (mostly women) are getting and the "Gamergate" carry-on. Specifically the common response when anyone objects:

"It's the internet, what do you expect? Better grow a thick skin or leave!"

Typical comments would include "Grow a pair", "Man up, princess", "Stop being a whiney girl" etc. Now this isn't about me and my feelings. I haven't been personally upset by any of the moronic drivel occasionally direted at me. But I'm playing online to relax and sweary nutters and racists aren't very relaxing for me regarless of who they are ranting at.

I'm just not happy with the broad idea that societal norms of civilised respectable behavior are thrown away as soon as you are online. I am actually less likely to swear in game chate or in a forum post that I am IRL as spoken words are fleeting and typed messages sit there making you look stupid. However when I'm in a private forum with people I know I might well throw in a blue word or two for effect.