1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Education Gardening? (what to do with this patch?)

Discussion in 'General' started by wyx087, 5 Jun 2015.

1. wyx087

wyx087 Homeworld 3 is happening!!

We have a bit of unused garden space. We've no idea what to do with it :confused: because there's too much soil to allow lawn mowers to work.

[​IMG][​IMG]

We have a few ideas:

A. put down some planks/bricks to make a sort of raised flower bed?

But how do I secure the planks so the weight of wet soil will not move it?

What plants to plant? low maintenance is number 1 concern.

B. remove the soil to do grass.

How to remove soil without a wheel barrow or even access to the garden? I don't want to carry dirt through the house. (only way to access garden)

My wife and I have zero gardening experience, I only know how to do lawn mowing :waah: any help are much appreciated.

2. Nexxo

Nexxo * Prefab Sprout – The King of Rock 'n' Roll

Herbs. They're low maintenance and useful for cooking. Everything tastes better with fresh herbs.

Start with rosemary, mint, chives and thyme. All easy growing, nice and useful. And parsley is always good to have in abundance. Basil is a bit more of a challenge in this climate, but also good.

Put them in WIDE pots, so they have plenty of room to grow, and bury those pots in the soil. Scatter between them with small gravel or wood chips --slugs hate them. Easy-peasy.

3. Tichinde

Tichinde Minimodder

Heavy duty refuse sacks to shift excess mud through the house.
    It's what I did with no spillage....

Fork it all over, get that stump out best you can (maybe worth asking a pro to do that), remove the excess, level it out, rake it over daily for a week, apply grass seed.

I have no skills in gardening either but turning it over and laying grass is (surprisingly) easy.

Edit: herbs are a damn fine idea for a space like that.