1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

News Google to launch YouTube Red subscription service

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by Gareth Halfacree, 22 Oct 2015.

1. Gareth Halfacree

Gareth Halfacree WIIGII! Lover of bit-tech Administrator Super Moderator Moderator

2. schmidtbag

schmidtbag What's a Dremel?

I've been using an ARM-based Chromebook for a few months and I've found that drops most of the ads; not all of them though. I'm not sure if that's intentional (to promote the sales of them) or if that's just a side effect of using ARM, but it's been pretty nice.

3. David

David μoʍ ɼouმ qᴉq λon ƨbԍuq ϝʁλᴉuმ ϝo ʁԍɑq ϝμᴉƨ

I assume we can expect them to ramp up the number of ads on the regular Youtube service, then?

4. graphitone

graphitone What's a Dremel?

Adblockpro serves me well enough at the moment, stripping out all add content. However, as Spreadie mentioned, are we in for more ads, maybe even a to and fro match between google and ad blockers - google finds a way around/disables adblockpro (some websites recognise you've got it and won't display the content 'til it's disabled), adblockpro or a.n.other finds a way around google's workaround and so it goes back n' forth...

5. ChaosDefinesOrder

ChaosDefinesOrder Vapourmodder

As a current Play Music subscriber, I see no problems with this new service ;-)

6. wolfticket

wolfticket Downwind from the bloodhounds

Kinda make sense, but seems a bit steep to me.
    While they might have some original/premium content, by the sound of it's hardly close to what Netflix/Amazon offer, and that is the price point they're competing at.

A few quid a month to drop the ads (without guilt) and little bit of premium content then I can see a decent amount of takers. Having it as another $10 (£8?) money drain on top of another more complete streaming service for what would amount to for many as just ditching ads, hmmm...